How you allow yourself to feel

Today is good friday, I am sitting on bus 45 on the way to office. Saw a couple hop off the bus infront of mine, the girl is wearing a relatively short dress. There is a guy at the buss stop, tilted his head to have a better look at the girl, at this I was like “screw you!”. I know I might have over-reacted, he’s not even looking at me hehe. I just sense that he was not looking at the girl but at the length of her skirt/dress, urghhh…

Then the couple got up to the overhead bridge.  As they climb the staircase, his boyfriend started to climb behind her so he can cover her back and later carries her handbag. At this, I just smiled and my heart started to be filled with indescribable joy. I know I might have too overly reacted again, but then I thought to myself if I can allow myself to be in rage because of something I felt bad about, I certainly can allow myself to be in so much joy because of something I felt good about eventhough that something did not actually happen to me, just something that I merely observe as a passerby.

Many a times, we human being (me included) are so preoccupied by the damage an incident has brought that it robbed off the joy that same incident has at the other side of the spectrum. I learned a new phrase from my chinese class last night, and this is the good time to use it 🙂 转念一想

One thought on “How you allow yourself to feel

Leave a Reply

